glove one.

sometimes i feel anxious if don’t have my phone near me. i’m working on this.

sometimes i feel like my phone is ringing in another room,even when it isn’t. i run to see who’s calling. i’m working on this impulse.

sometimes i feel like my phone is an extension of myself. this too, i’m working on.

if asked, would i give up the use of my hand for my phone? i’d probably respond, “nah, i’m good.” but, would some people? you know, give up their hand to always be connected with their technological device….?

this is what my soul twin/best friend/partner asked of the viewer when he made a wearable phone glove, called glove one.  he says “it is both the literalization of Sherry Turkle’s notion of technology as a ‘phantom limb’, in how we augment ourselves through an ambivalent reliance on it, as well as a celebration of the freedom we seek in our devices.”

the phone glove was made as part of a series for bryan’s m.a. show. he’s currently a grad student at the university wisconsin-milwaukee.

glove one was featured on some pretty neat “maker” sites including ponoko, make and tecca. oh, also yahoo news and the huffington post. pretty dang awesome. it is great to see him get some press for one of his projects. i am so proud of my little maker. ❤

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/05/15/wearable-tech-bryan-cera-glove-one_n_1515456.html

i can totally picture kanye wearing this, if it was gold plated.

http://bryancera.co.nr/

About herenowithlove

Hi :) So happy to meet you, I'm Lou. This is a random assortment of things I enjoy, pictures I take and food I make.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to glove one.

  1. Lou Dwan says:

    This is awesome! Your man is a clever dude…. love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

